Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC)


This 15-member Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) provides a channel for two-way communication between the community and the utility. City of San Antonio council members nominate 10 of the 15 members, one representing each district. The other five members are at-large candidates interviewed and nominated by the CAC from those submitting applications and resumes. The CPS Energy Board of Trustees appoints all members to the committee. Members can serve up to three two-year terms. The CAC meets monthly with the primary goal of providing judicious advice from a customer perspective on utility-related projects and programs.

Contact the CAC or find more information through the CPS Energy liaison by calling (210) 353-3072 or emailing

Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) Meetings


Meet our Citizens Advisory Committee:

Juan Cano


District 1 Representative

Cano is the Founder of Cano Development an infill and residential development company. He also serves as the Co-Founder of Rise Civic Development that supports business backed solutions for municipal government and nonprofits. A veteran of the U.S. Marine Corps, Cano is a graduate of the University of Texas San Antonio.

Michelle Lugalia-Hollon

Lugalia- Hollon

District 2 Representative

Lugalia-Hollon has worked in non-profits, government, and philanthropy since 2006 and currently serves as the Director of Initiatives at the Kronkosky Charitable Foundation. Originally from Nairobi, Kenya, she has lived in Houston, Chicago and Boston, and recently relocated to San Antonio with her husband and daughter.


Diana Aguirre Martinez


District 3 Representative

Aguirre Martinez is the Director of Development and Community Outreach for Old Spanish Missions, Inc. of the Archdiocese of San Antonio.  She is a lifelong resident of District 3 and also serves as the President of the Association of Women in Communication-San Antonio Chapter, a Posada Guadalupe Board member in addition to other Community and civic organizations.

Frank Gonzalez


District 4 Representative

Gonzalez is the Area Manager for Alpha Environmental Management Company and is active in environmental conservation efforts in the San Antonio area and Texas.  He also volunteers for Habitat for Humanity and Building A Purpose and serves as a mentor with Communities In Schools. 


Andy Castillo


District 5 Representative

Castillo is an architect for Ford Powell and Carson Architects. A licensed registered accessibility specialist.  President of the Quintana Community Neighborhood Association.  He was recognized by the San Antonio Business Journal as a 40 under 40 rising star in 2016.

Joe Yakubik


District 9 Representative

Yakubik is an electrical engineer and retired as a Lt. Col. from the U.S. Air Force. He has lived in San Antonio for 20 years.


Allie Watters


District 10 Representative

Watters serves as a Community Relations Coordinator for Whataburger where she coordinates charitable giving and non-profit relations in Houston, Dallas and the Southeast. She’s a lifelong resident of District 10 and a member of the American Legion Auxiliary where she volunteers with the Texas Bluebonnet Girls State program. 


Members at Large


David Walter


Chair and Member at Large

Walter currently serves as the Vice President of Business Development at NuStar Energy.  He has worked in the energy industry for more than 15 years in engineering, logistics, trading, market analysis, and planning roles.


Luisa Casso


Chair Elect and Member at Large

Casso has represented public, private and non-profit entities within the public affairs, economic development and community development arenas for more than 20 years. 


Bill Day

Member at Large - Bill Day

Vice Chair and Member at Large

Day serves as the VP and Corporate Communications Manager for Frost Bank, where he is responsible for external communication, media relations, social media and reputation management.  Prior to joining Frost in 2016, he spent 10 years in a similar role with Valero Energy Corporation.  He is a graduate of Leadership San Antonio and has served on a variety of non-profit boards in the community.


Mary Dennis


Member at Large

Dennis is Mayor of Live Oak, currently serving her fourth term. She currently serves as President for the Texas Municipal League (TML) for the 2016/2017 cycle. Dennis also serves on several other boards and commissions.


MaryEllen Veliz


Member at Large

Veliz is Deputy Chief of Staff for Congressman Lloyd Doggett (TX-35).  She has served as a Volunteer Coordinator for Bexar County Judge Nelson Wolff and as an Ambassador Program Coordinator for the COSA International Relations Office.